SC4 celebrates 61st edition of Michigan’s longest-running, student-led literary arts magazine

Students in St. Clair County Community College’s arts programs recently were recognized for their role in publishing the 61st edition of “Patterns” magazine, Michigan’s oldest literary and arts publication aimed at showcasing student talent and works of art.

Patterns-61“Patterns” is completely designed, proofed and published by SC4 students. Deonna Camastra, Noah Muxlow and Hannah Wallace led the publication’s design team, while faculty members Sarah Flatter, Jim Frank and Gary Schmitz provided direction and support to students.

“Patterns is an opportunity to celebrate being creative and to recognize the unique talents of our next generation of artists,” said Flatter, professor of fine arts at the college. “We congratulate all of those who contributed to the 61st edition of Patterns and honor their success while at SC4.”

Several students from across the region received awards and recognition during a special ceremony and reception on April 25 in the college’s Fine Arts Theatre.

2019 “Patterns” award winners:

Special honors

Patrick Bourke Award

  • Noah Muxlow, Port Huron

Eleanor Mathews Award

  • Mackenzie Hiller, Avoca
  • Karla Warshefski, Lakeport


  • First place (Kathy Nickerson Award) — Mackenzie Hiller of Avoca for “The Daughter of Mediocrity”
  • Second place — Devin Bergman of Kimball for “That Didn’t Take Long”
  • Third place — Mackenzie Hiller of Avoca for “The 30-Year Cycle”

Short stories

  • First place (Richard Colwell Award) — Lauren VanEenoo of Croswell for “A Calm Winter’s Day”
  • Second Place — Mackenzie Hiller of Avoca for “To be Normal”
  • Third Place — Karla Warshefski of Lakeport for “Rise and Fall”

Visual arts

  • First place — Brian Wells of Port Huron for “This is Sparta!”
  • Second place — Sabrina Mason of Clyde for “Mind Over Matter”
  • Third place — Everett Klimovich of Smiths Creek for “It’s Only a Game”


  • First place (Blanche Redman Award) — Clea Stevens of Port Huron for “December Morning”
  • Second place — Karla Warshefski of Lakeport for “Saying Goodbye to Mary Jane”
  • Third place — Rilee Meyers of Goodells for “Otherworldly”

Literary selections of merit

  • Breanna Sylvia of Port Huron for “Four Years” and “Familiarity”
  • Rilee Meyers of Goodells for “The Monster in my Bed”
  • Kayla Plenda of Yale for “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Shoe”
  • Sydney Griffor of St. Clair for “The One”

Visual arts selections of merit

  • Sabrina Mason of Clyde for “Remington,” “Mark” and “Tripp”
  • Elijah Ceplecha of Harbor Beach for “Inner Fire” and “Dream Realm”
  • Joella Killion of Clyde for “1428 Post Alley, Seattle, WA”
  • Amethyst Stevens of Fort Gratiot for “Glitched Reality”
  • Jordan Martin-Nichols of Fort Gratiot for “Speak of the Devil”
  • Barbara Rickerman of St. Clair Township for “Pieces”
  • Courtney Angebrandt of Peck for “Stardust Petals” and “Various With White”
  • Emma Thurman of Kimball for “A Gift for my Love” and “Boredom”
  • Ryan Mikolowski of Kimball for “Fun Glasses”
  • Hannah Wallace of Port Huron for “Perspective”
  • Elise Edie of Port Huron for “Spiraling”
  • Spencer Malburg of Capac for “Reverie”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s